Books > Most Wished For > Gay & Lesbian










Price: $12.84 ($23.00)

(as of 2012-10-06 11:15:24 PST)

You save $10.16 (44%)

Usually ships in 24 hours

Gay & Lesbian

Rating: 4.5 / 5.0 (2 votes)

Released: 2012-09-18

Buying Choices

41 new from $8.46
12 used from $8.29
1 collectible from $25.95

(as of 2012-10-06 11:15:24 PST)








The Scientists: A Family Romance by Marco Roth

Description

A frank, smart, and deeply transferring debut memoir

With the precociousness anticipated of the only child of a doctor and a magnificenceical musician—from the time he may just get his toddler tongue to a pronounce a phrase like “De-oxy ribonucleic acid,” or recite a French poem—Marco Roth was in a position to percentage his folks’ ny, an international focused around space concert events, a private library of literary magnificenceics, and dinner discussions of the phrase advances in medicine. That world ended when his father began to undergo the worst effects of the AIDS virus that had infected him in the early 1980s.

What this circle of relatives may just no longer speak about for years came to dominate the lives of its surviving participants, often in sudden ways. The Scientists is a tale of the way we first be informed from our folks and how we then learn how to see them as separate folks; it’s a tale of the way precociousness can slow us down on the subject of understanding approximately our wants and other folks’s. A memoir of oldsters and children in the tradition of Edmund Gosse, Henry Adams, and J.R. Ackerley, The Scientists grapples with a bothered highbrow and emotional inheritance, in a method that may be both elegiac and defiant.

 
Check All OffersAdd to Wish ListCustomer Reviews

book details

writer: Marco Rothwriter: Farrar, Straus and..Binding: HardcoverLanguage: EnglishPages: 208

an identical books

Joseph Anton: A Memoir
This Is How You Lose Her
Telegraph Avenue: A Novel
NW: A Novel

Comments




Our ebookshop offers you a huge selection of most exclusive book and ebooks. Look at you in peace, and to save you Kindle eBooks – Ebookle.de. The large selection of great books is updated daily! Much information about the authors are available.