Books > Movers & Shakers > Literature & Fiction

Editoral evaluate

Amazon most sensible books of the Month, November 2012: all the time tip. If you'll’t tip, be great. And if you'll’t manage either, you might be unwrapping a new toothbrush on a daily basis. That’s shocked lesson to be realized from Jacob Tomsky’s gonzo account of his years as a entrance-desk clerk at resorts in New Orleans and ny. From the happy-handing doormen to the unsung staff within the “back of the house,” Tomsky exposes the machinery and machinations that make luxurious resorts run (if no longer always easily), advising his possible guests about whose palms to grease (and what kind of) in an effort to get that coveted park-view upgrade. Informative and mildly salacious, Heads in Beds is an exciting peek hardly places other folks go to escape, and the stunts they pull once they get there. --Jon Foro


Amazon exclusive: An Essay through Jacob Tomsky

when I got to work in resorts the computer screens glowed in a single colour, alien inexperienced, and the displays had been the size of boulders. We used to confidently toss remark automobileds within the trash (or, as we cited it, file them within the “T” file) making them disappear endlessly. I used to money checks through picking up the phone and talking to some other person. music within the lobthrough used to be usually provided through a piano player, who might swivel his head at passing guests with a ridiculous, pasty-having a look smile as he tapped out non-offensive cover songs performed with a non-offensive classical flourish.

Now, midentification-volume, beat-heavy techno seeps from recessed audio system built into the lobthrough’s crown molding. The screens are flat. that you may’t manage to direct anything else from go back and forth marketing consultant into the “T” file and all the guests wish to hook up their iPad to the bathroom or no matter what. And should you pay with a check I nonetheless have to pick out up the phone, which is extremely irritating as a result of who pays with checks anymore? forestall it.

but all of that change approach no longerhing. simply because I’ll inform you what hasn’t modified: The entrance desk agents, the bellmen, the doormen, the housestayers, the room provider attendants, and the managers. lodge workers are nonetheless version 1.0 and that i ensure should you brought me to a bar and sat me next to a entrance desk agent from 1897, we’d over-drink and switch the similar form of hilarious tales about the similar form of insane guests. Hospitality, regardless of how slick it gets, will always be a industry run through individuals who serve other folks. it is going to always be about provider. it is going to always take a person to explain that, no, you'llno longer hook up your iPad to the bathroom however you can use it to control the lighting and wi-fily play song throughout the in-room speaker machine. And guests nonetheless, and expectantly will endlessly, hand me bodily remark automobileds, which i can continue to throw within the trash.

right through all these renovations (while I stated such things as, “Wait, they made the internet wi-fi? It’s within the goddamn air now?”) i was always writing. I grew up studying novel after novel and that’s all I wanted from existence, to provide back and write one thing excellent. After years of resort work and relocations that took me from New Orleans to Paris to Copenhagen and ultimately New York city, I in any case conceived the speculation for Heads in Beds. I positioned everything I had into it, all my knowledge of the industry and the writing talents I’d advanced considering the fact that i was a kid. I in reality wish you find it funny and informative and that it is helping you navigate the crooked halls of hospitality. That has always been my function, to write one thing excellent.

That and hang out with a entrance desk agent from 1897.










Price: $15.44 ($25.95)

(as of 2012-11-07 11:30:39 PST)

You save $10.51 (41%)

Available for Pre-order

Literature & Fiction

Rating: 3.8 / 5.0 (46 votes)

Released: 2012-11-20






Heads in Beds: A Reckless Memoir of Hotels, Hustles, and So-Called Hospitality by Jacob Tomsky

Description

within the tradition of Kitchen Confidentificationential and Waiter Rant, a rollicking, eye-beginning, superbly indiscreet memoir of a existence spent (and misspent) within the resort industry.

Jacob Tomsky by no means intended to enter the resort industry. As a new faculty graduate, armed only with a philosophy degree and a novel loss of automobileeer path, he became a valet parker for a large luxurious resort in New Orleans. yet, rising speedy throughout the ranks, he ended up working in “hospitality” for more than a decade, doing everything from suin step withvising the housestaying department to manning the entrance desk at an upscale new york resort. He’s checked you in, checked you out, separated your white panties from the white bed sheets, parked your automobile, tasted your room-provider foods, rising your toilet, denied you a overdue checkout, given you a wake-up name, eaten Mcff0478Ms from your minibar, laughed at your jokes, and taken your cash. In Heads in Beds he pulls back the curtain to reveal the crazy and compelling truth of a multi-invoiceion-buck industry we assume we all know.

Heads in Beds is a funny, authentic, and irreverent chronicle of the highs and lows of resort existence, advised through a keenly observant insidentificationer who’s observed music. get ready to be amused, shocked, and surprised as he spills the unwritten code of the bellhops, the antics that go on within the valet parking garage, the housestaying department’s grimy little secrets and techniques—to not point out the shameless actions of the guests, who're hardly on their easiest habits. get ready to be moved, too, through his candor about what it’s like to toil in a highly not easy provider industry at the luxurious degree, the place other folks be expecting to get what they pay for (and continuously a complete lot more). employees are poorly paidentification and incessantly abused through costaff and guests alike, and keeping up a semblance of sanity is a daily problem.

along his journey Tomsky also reveals the secrets and techniques of the industry, offering simple how you can get what you want more than resort with none trouble. This ebook (and a timely proffered twenty-buck invoice) will can help you score overdue checkouts and upgrades, get free stuff galore, and make that pay-in step with-view rate maginamey disappear. thanks to him you’ll know how to get the easiest provider from any industry that makes its cash from hanging heads in beds. Or, at the very least, you will stay the bellmen from taking your baggage into the digicam-free back place of job and bashing it in opposition to the wall repeatedly.

Check All OffersAdd to WishListCustomer Reviews

book main points

rising: Jacob Tomskywriter: DoubledayBinding: toughcoverLanguage: EnglishPages: 2five6

similar books

Mr. Penumbracff0478#39;s 24-Hour Bookstore: A Novel
Sweet Tooth: A Novel
Confessions of a Surgeon: The Good, the Bad, and the Complicated...Life Behind the O.R. Doors
The Raven Boys (Raven Cycle)

Comments




Our ebookshop offers you a huge selection of most exclusive book and ebooks. Look at you in peace, and to save you Kindle eBooks – Ebookle.de. The large selection of great books is updated daily! Much information about the authors are available.